Living The Dream

You’d think I’d be happier.

All my hard work is paying off. Last week, I signed a contract with NineStar Press to publish my debut novel. Now that it’s locked in I’m excited to tell you guys all about it. But angst first, then more about the book, I promise.

I think the only reason I’m not over the moon right now is because I am just so tired. There’s been so many upheavals at work I’m literally working a completely different job now. That on top of trying to write for NaNoWriMo and some personal problems I’m not discussing here… It’s a lot. Way a lot. I should be completely over the moon because I accomplished a life long dream. I’m going to have a book published!

…Though to be fair? I’ve said this to myself at least a hundred times a day since I got the first email last Thursday and I still don’t believe it. I know why I don’t believe it, but it’s a hard thing to cope with. I’m a success by my own definition and by the definition of the capitalist society we’re all trapped in.

I’m trying to move past that kind of negative thinking, or dwelling on things in the past that make me unhappy. Keep moving forward. Think positive. You know, all that stuff they tell you to do when you’re stuck in a negative thought cycle.

Which is why I’m going to tell you guys about this book I’ve been working so hard on since last year. I wanted to keep it under wraps because I’m incredibly secretive about a lot of my projects. So here’s what you need to know.

The book is called Sorcery of the Blood, which I have mentioned before. The book is about a vampire hunter named Kingston who’s turned into a vampire. Needless to say, he’s not the least bit happy about it. Even worse, he and his hunting partner Martin are trapped in Phoenix just as the city is taken over by the undead.

They go into hiding, and that’s when things get very interesting.

Now there’s still some time until the book comes out, and the publishing date hasn’t been set yet. I can tell you it’s going to be in 2020 and when I get a more official date then I’ll absolutely share it. But what I’d like to do is share some behind the scenes stuff that I wasn’t able to share before.

I’m talking character profiles, I’m talking playlists, settings, notes, drawings, all sorts of goodies that I hope will entice you to read my book.

The bonus features start posting next month, and I’ll try to post at least one bonus a month up until the book is released. This will be starting in December since I’m currently busy with NaNo. I’m also pretty close to vacation, which is going to be the first full week of January.

Speaking of, if anyone reading is going to be in New Orleans on January 9th, some friends of mine and I are getting together at the Tea Witch Cafe in the Garden District around 2PM. Stop by and say hello!

Okay, I think I’ve cheered myself up a little. Depression, the curse that keeps on cursing.

xoxo

Alice

Leave a comment